With a team of seven (7) criminal defense lawyers and over 100 years of legal experience you can trust in us for your defense.
- FORMER MUNICIPAL PROSECUTORS IN OVER 25 NEW JERSEY TOWNS
- FORMER COUNTY PROSECUTORS
- CERTIFIED DEFENSE ATTORNEYS IN FIELD SOBRIETY TESTING (DWI)
- CERTIFIED OPERATORS OF THE ALCOTEST 7110 BREATH TESTING DEVICE (DWI)
Middlesex County NJ Speeding and Traffic Ticket Lawyers
If you have been issued a summons for speeding anywhere in the State of New Jersey, the experienced criminal and traffic ticket attorneys at the Law Office of John F. Marshall can help. Thousands of speeding tickets are issued on the Garden State Parkway and New Jersey Turnpike alone every year. Our attorneys are extremely familiar with Municipal Courts and Municipal Prosecutors throughout the State and will defend you against any criminal and traffic charges including speeding, DWI (Driving While Intoxicated), driving while suspended (Driving While Suspended), and driving without insurance (Driving Without Insurance).
New Jersey Speeding Charges: N.J.S.A. 39:4-98
The New Jersey Statute governing rates of speed is N.J.S.A. 39:4-98 which states:
§ 39:4-98. Rates of speed
Subject to the provisions of R.S. 39:4-96 and R.S. 39:4-97 and except in those instances where a lower speed is specified in this chapter, it shall be prima facie lawful for the driver of a vehicle to drive it at a speed not exceeding the following:
a. Twenty-five miles per hour, when passing through a school zone during recess, when the presence of children is clearly visible from the roadway, or while children are going to or leaving school, during opening or closing hours;
b. (1) Twenty-five miles per hour in any business or residential district;
(2) Thirty-five miles per hour in any suburban business or residential district;
c. Fifty miles per hour in all other locations, except as otherwise provided in the "Sixty-Five MPH Speed Limit Implementation Act," pursuant to section 2 of P.L.1997, c.415.
Penalties and Points for Speeding in New Jersey
If you have received a ticket for speeding in New Jersey, the number of motor vehicle points (Points for Traffic Offenses), assessed on your license depends on the speed at which you exceeded the legal limit. If you are clocked going 1-14 mph over the legal speed limit, you will receive a two (2) point ticket. If you are clocked going 15-29 mph over the legal speed limit, you will receive a four (4) point ticket. If you are clocked going 30 mph or more over the legal speed limit, you will receive a (5) point speeding ticket. Further, you may receive a ticket for reckless driving under N.J.S.A. 39:4-96 if you are clocked at an excessively high speed. This additional ticket also involves five (5) points on your license. As a result, it is essential you contact an experienced criminal and traffic ticket lawyer to defend you against these traffic charges.
Unsafe Driving Charges in NJ: N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.2
Often times a speeding ticket can be amended to what traffic attorneys call a "97.2" which is an unsafe driving charge. This allows a driver to avoid points on their license while paying a substantial fine and motor vehicle surcharge. However, it is important to remember that you can only plead guilty to this charge twice within a five (5) year period and avoid the motor vehicle points. If you plead guilty to a third unsafe driving violation within five (5) years, you will be assessed four (4) points on your driver's license. For additional information, contact the experienced criminal attorneys at the Law Office of John F. Marshall for immediate assistance.